top of page
Search
Giselle O.

The Demon King Book Review

Updated: Jul 8, 2020

My Thoughts: I love this book! Sometimes, in fantasy books, the world the story takes place under evolved, with many potholes, but the world of The Demon King is the total opposite. There are different cultures, types of people, and a really developed back story (all of which I am a true sucker for). Reading this book series (book reviews on 2 through 4 pending) is like being sucked into an alternate reality. I can't believe I'm writing this, but here it is... this book series competes with Harry Potter in my mind... if you knew me, you would know that that is the highest praise a book could get. I mean really I could not put this book down it was so good. I 100% suggest you get it. Also, I read this book and listened to it. In this case, my vote is the audiobook. I loved the narrators. They did a really amazing job.


My Summary: Hanson Alister and Princess Raisa ana'Mariana live two very different lives. Han works for everything that he has. Raisa lives in a castle. Han doesn't always take the moral high ground. Raisa believes it her job to do what is right and just for all in her kingdom. Yet, both of these two very different people are being pulled apart by the lives they live. For Han a life of crime and gangs to one of safety for his friends and family, and for Raisa the life at her mother's court vs the life at her father's clan. Both want to be better, and that's why they came together, well that and Han kidnapping Raisa, who, to his own defense, had no idea that she was a princess.



Overall Rating: 9

Justification: At the beginning of the book I was a little confused. This is normal when creating such a different kind of world, but I will not lie. I was really confused. Once I got into the story though, all of that changed. It is such a beautiful tale, with so many twists and turns I did not expect at all. Reading this book was so magical, and I promise once you get into it is nearly impossible to put it down. If it wasn't for the beginning this book might have gotten a 9.5 in my book, but never the less, this book was a really great read.


Character Rating: 8

Justification: Hanson Alister: Badboy extraordinaire. Known previously as the street lord of Ragmarket, Han is trying to go on the straight and narrow for the sake of his little sister. But no one seems to believe that he is no longer in a gang because the kid can't catch a break. The authorities are blaming him for murders in the town, rival gangs are beating him up left in right, and he accidentally kidnaps a princess. It doesn't help that he took a very powerful amulet from the son of the High Wizard, Lord Gavan Bayar and is now trying to keep it a secret.

Princess Raisa ana’Marianna: Raisa doesn't like court life. After spending years free with one side of her family at the Demoni camp, she gets thrust back into the castle, with rules, proposals, and ill-fitting shoes. Her dream is to become a great queen but to do that she believes that she has to be more in touch with her people, than the queens before her, and she just about willing to do anything to accomplish this goal.


My Favorite Line: “There's too much to learn in a lifetime.”


Spoilers:

Seriously

if

you

don't

want

to

know

stop

reading

now

.

.

.

Okay, here we go...

Raisa: Raisa's mother (aka the Queen) is under Lord Gaven Bayar's magical influence which makes her force her daughter into a shotgun wedding with Micah Bayar (the high wizard's son). Thankfully, Raisa manages to sneak away and she escapes the castle planning to Oden's Ford (boarding school) with her best friend Amon.

Han: The amulet that Han stole actually belongs to his ancestor, the Demon King. Han learns that the cuffs on his arms prevent him from using magic. He makes a deal with the clans (who put them on him when he was a baby) to get them off in exchange for being the clan's personal charm caster. He and his best friend Dancer then go to Oden's Ford to learn more about magic.

.

.

.

Warning: Don't get too attached to any characters. I did and it was a mistake. True the death I'm talking about doesn't even happen in this book, it's actually way in the future, and maybe this is just me being butt hurt, but my heart broke into a million pieces, and I need to save your heart for the same thing. So don't fall!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page