top of page
Search
Giselle O.

Pride and Prejudice Book Review

Updated: Jul 8, 2020

My Thoughts: As my first book review, I thought I would go ahead and start with this classic for three reasons.

1. For a woman in her time, Elizabeth is quite the badass feminist

2. Some part of me just loves all the old fashioned kind of bullshit that is said (it's hilarious)

3. And of course the cynical and oh so swooning Mr. Darcy... that man is the definition of dark and brooding

So as you can see Pride and Prejudice has a special place in my heart. I love this book, both in book and audiobook form (the way the narrator says Mr. Darcy gives me actual chills), but that doesn't mean I going to go easy on my review.

My Summary:

While her older sister, and the beauty of the family, Jane is being shoved towards the kind and handsome Mr. Bingley, Elizabeth quickly becomes more and more annoyed with Mr. Darcy. The most stoic and prideful man she's ever met.


Overall Rating: 6.5

Justification: I love how this book sends be back in time. I love some of the characters. I love the slow burn love (I mean who doesn't). What I don't love is Mrs. Bennet... and all of Elizabeth's sisters. While I am aware that the Bennets (minus Mr. Bennet and Elizabeth) attitudes and traits are necessary for the progression of the story, and a product of the time period, I honest to god hate them. Truly, if it wasn't for them I would have given the book at least a 7.5 (the sexist remarks don't allow the book to rank any higher). With that being said I don't care how charming a book is, if a character makes me want to throw said book across the room it automatically gets a one-point deduction. The plot and author's deceptions add to the score.


Characters Rating: 6

Justification: Elizabeth: Referred to as the least silly of all his daughters by Mr. Bennet, Elizabeth is known for being quick-witted. Don't get me wrong she can be a stubborn mule at the worst possible moments, but the fact that in a society that pushes her to fit in a certain box, she pushes herself to be something else is pretty great to me.

Mr. Darcy: I once talked about Pride and Prejudice at Christmas dinner at my grandmother's house and my all my cousin said was, "Mr. Darcy" in an awful English accent (we are California girls born and raised). But, that is the exact reaction Mr. Darcy has on most people. He is the symbol of a dark and brooding man with an unsuspecting soft side. I honestly believe that most of the bad boys in today's fiction are partially based on him.

Mrs. Bennet: I wish this woman would shut up for once in her damn life...


Favorite Line: “I could easily forgive his pride, if he had not mortified mine.” -Elizabeth Bennet


Spoilers:

Seriously

if

you

don't

want

to

know

stop

reading

now

.

.

.

Okay, here we go...

They end up together. Everyone ends up happy. What else did you expect but really here are three big spoilers:

1. Mr. Wickham aka a hot solider who is actually a gambling a**hat who prays on women to try to steal any and all the money that their family has.

2. Mr. Darcy had a part in separating Jane and Mr. Bingley, but only because Mrs. Bennet (god I hate her) makes it sound like she is using him for his money.

3. When they do end up getting together Mr.Darcy and Elizabeth are honestly the cutest couple... I love them.


Well, that's it for this book review, but keep the conversation going, comment... share... etc. Now seriously go and read this book, I know you won't regret it! P.S. The 2005 movie gives me actual chills each time I watch it. Seriously the cinematography and usage of light is unreal!


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page